Glass etching

Glass etching is one of those things that becomes completely addicting. I already have a tendency to collect cool glass dishes, glasses and things, and now I want to etch everything! Here are the simple steps on how to do it, I put a friend’s last name on a 9 x 13 in baking dish. I love it because you will always get your dishes returned when you’ve got your name smack dab in the middle.

If you have one of those machines that cut out paper or vinyl, you could certainly save some time using it. But, I am not that crafy so I found a fun font and printed out my design. Did you know there are a TON of free fonts out there? Check out Free Scrapbook Fonts 

I used layers of painter’s tape and then taped the template over the top. Then you get out your little friendly exactor knife and get to it. Trace around the letters and then remove the tape so it looks like this:

Carefully remove the template and attach where you want it on your project. I made sure it was sealed well, using my fingernail to smooth over bubbles.

Then you take etching cream (you can find it by the paints at craft stores, I got mine at Craft Warehouse) and glop (a technical term) it on making sure the area you want etched has a thick coating. I just used a small craft paint brush. I left it on for about 30 minutes, then rinsed well with water. Don’t get it on your hands, this stuff is potent. Then you peel off the tape and you are done!

3 thoughts on “Glass etching

  1. How is it that i just now discovered this blog of yours? Love it. I made this for my MIL for Mother’s Day. I’ll have to try your method of putting the stencil on painter’s tape. I printed it out, exacto knifed it out, traced it on contact paper, then exacto knifed it out again. Such a process.

    • Ah, you found me! It is such a process. It would be much easier if I could get my hands on one of those machines that cuts out vinyl. But then I would want to etch everything in my house 🙂

      • I’ve been eyeing those Cricut machines, but I’m not nearly crafty enough to justify the purchase. So, I just take the more laborious route. 🙂

Leave a Reply

