Footstool makeover

Think twice when you see something that looks like junk at a garage sale or Goodwill.

This sad little footstool was at a friend’s garage sale last weekend and I snatched it up to give it a makeover for my friend who is a photographer. I thought it would make the perfect little prop for her photos of little ones.

To give it a fresh look, I removed the fabric top part where it was attached with four screws. Then I gave the wood a quick sand and gave it two coats of black paint with a can of spray paint. I had some leftover fabric (I’m obsessed with chevron, this is Premier Prints) so I eye-balled it and cut out enough to leave a couple of inches of overlap around the edges. I wrapped the fabric around starting on one side, tucking the raw edge under then used a staple gun to hold it in place. I worked my way around being sure to hold it really tight to keep the fabric smooth and the print lined up across the edge.

Turned out pretty darn cute. What do you think? (I am loving my models :))

Leave a Reply

