A life changing organizing tip

Well, that might a big dramatic. But, my sister did promise it would change my life. So here we go…

This happens all day long, right? I am constantly digging through the pantry and grabbing snacks for the kids, and trying to keep my diaper bag stocked. And then along came…the snack bin.

I did not come up with this idea. I was raiding my sister’s pantry during a visit and admiring her organization (she is amazing, you can find her at Morganize with Me), and I saw the snack bin. She explained how it worked, and I knew I must do the same thing immediately. She got the idea over at I Heart Organizing.

The idea is to package up portioned snacks ahead of time in small containers and make them accessible to your kids so they can help themself. Then the individual snacks go in a bin in the pantry where they can reach them.

In our house, my son needs to ask permission to get a snack from the snack bin, because I don’t want him helping himself all day and filling up too much before meals. I have found it really helpful for those times when I am busy and can’t grab a snack, and my son loves to be able to pick his own out.

I copied my sis and got the same containers, they are the Ball Plastic Freezer Jars. I have tried pre-portioning snacks in ziploc bags before but they end up getting smushed in my bag and my son can have a hard time opening the bags. I love these containers because they keep the snacks fresh, they don’t get crushed and they wash well.

I also love these because they help me when I’m doing the mad dash out the door in the morning. I always grab a couple of snacks for my bag so I am prepared for the day.

Some snack ideas for your snack bin:

  • Crackers
  • Cereal
  • Animal crackers
  • Veggies Straws
  • Raisins
  • Pretzels
  • Popcorn
  • Pirate’s Booty
  • Nuts
  • Chex Mix
  • Granola
  • Trail mix

My sister also keeps a snack bin in the bottom drawer of her fridge for items like string cheese, yogurt, applesauce, etc. I love this idea but I’m not ready to give my kids access to the refrigerator yet. 🙂

How do you organize snacks? Would these work for you?

4 thoughts on “A life changing organizing tip

  1. I think if I were to do something like this, I would definitely opt for the fridge. I think the snacks I’d want them to be able to get without asking would all be things that can spoil like carrots, apple slices, snap peas.

  2. This is not “train with tyree” fyi…. love your post HB, I havea new idea to use the snack cups for…stay tuned! Also love the photo idea from the last post, I will be adding that to my options for ALL the artwork! 🙂 xoxo

  3. I just started doing this too!! Your containers are way better than mine though so I am orderering them ASAP. I also do the drawer in the fridge. The kids now know that they can pick one fridge snack and/or one pantry snack between breakfast and lunch and then again between lunch and dinner. They don’t always pick both – I swear it seems like they actually snack LESS now that I have given up the control of it and put it in their hands. Anyway, awesome idea and thanks for the tip on those containers:)!

Leave a Reply

