DIY Burlap Wreath

I’m not what I’d call a crafty person, but I occasionally try my hand at making something when I get suckered into all the ideas I get from the craft store.

I have wanted a wreath for our front door that is more seasonal, not just for a specific holiday. And I happen to love the burlap that’s popping up everywhere. So, here is my version of a very imperfect burlap wreath.

Here’s how I did it…

I took a wire wreath form that I had and started out by wrapping batting around it. I think you could use most kinds of wreath forms and other kinds of materials to give you a base. Even paper would work.

IMG_1090

Just glue the end, wrap, and then glue on the other end once you’ve made your way around. Then you have this:

IMG_1091

I bought a bundle of burlap for this project, and I chose an ivory color because I wanted it to pop on my black front door. It’s a 1/2 yard and was plenty. Take your burlap and cut it into squares, mine were about 4″ x 4″.

IMG_1093

Then you’re going to start gluing on your pieces of burlap with your glue gun. For the first layer, don’t worry about it if they look too flat, just glue them on randomly and it will eventually come together.

IMG_1097

After you’ve got your first layer, start creating some texture with the pieces. Take a square and fold it with your hand, leaving the center in a bit of a point. Glue down the point and hold while the glue dries. Like this:

IMG_1103

Do this all the way around and until you have everything covered. You should end up with a nice, ruffled texture.

Then, embellish with a lil’ something. I chose a red fabric flower that I picked up at the craft store.

And you’re done! A perfectly imperfect wreath that will work through fall and winter.

IMG_1166

Leave a Reply

