Easy scrapbook paper art

We are doing a bit of redecorating around here and I wanted get some new art pieces for my little Stella’s room. I couldn’t find anything I loved, so I decided to make something myself. I copied this idea from an ad for a craft store.

Image

You will need:

A blank canvas (I used 20 x 20)
A mix of 10-12 different scrapbook papers
Scissors
Glue
Mod Podge

Image

 I found this cute collection of scrapbook paper for $5.99 and the canvas was half off. So, I only spent $16 total and have some leftover paper to use for something else. Aren’t the scrapbook paper patterns cute? Love.

IMG_1839

I started by making a couple of templates for my flower petals. I am not big on perfection for stuff like this, so I just eyeballed it using the cover of a magazine so the template was a bit thicker than the scrapbook paper. I also cut out a circle for the center, just by tracing the bottom of a wine glass to get a nice, round circle.

Then I started cutting the petals out. I used an exacto knife because it is faster for me than scissors.

IMG_1841

Once I had enough petals, I started laying them out in random order to make a big bloom on the canvas. Once I was happy with the layout, I glued each piece down with a glue stick.

IMG_1843

I added this in the corner, so cute.

IMG_1845

After that, I painted on a couple coats of Mod Podge over the whole thing to seal everything and I was done!

What do you think?

IMG_1848

2 thoughts on “Easy scrapbook paper art

Leave a Reply

